Sujata-a face in his paintings ચિત્રોમાં એક ચહેરો

Sujata – a face in his paintings

           I had always seen my friend, Sujata, surrounded by some admiring girlfriends and worshiping boys in our neighborhood playground.  It was 1958, when I was a dreamy-eyed twelve-year-old, and my friend Sujata was three years older than I. We all wanted to be her best friend and felt privileged when we could stand next to her. She knew how to please the people around her. She was a very good athlete, a clever student with a charming personality. Some used to compare her to the contemporary film star, Nutan.

In spite of the three year age difference, we became best friends. I did not bribe Sujata with any special gifts or a fruit from my garden. Of course, having a good-looking older brother might have helped. An awkward, clueless young girl as I was, I learned from Sujata how to be sweet and make friends. Every evening, boys and girls played at our neighborhood playground.  We used to get a kick out of telling her which older boy was staring at her. Her response would be a hidden smile. She loved all that attention.

Sujata graduated from high school and joined an art college. She was very successful in sports, dance and in her studies. Later, we were not very close, but I would hear about her love affairs and her brothers beating up the guys to keep them away from Sujata.  But our friends felt that she was making good choices. One boy was very right for her, but her family would not allow a union. After she graduated from college, Sujata went away to live with her sister in another city for some time.
Then one day, her marriage was arranged. It was disheartening to see her being pressured to say “yes” to a man of her family’s choice. I met him at their wedding. Some younger, crude friends started joking, “Sujata, he looks so dull – if you slap him, he would not say anything.”  One sister of the groom heard the comments and protested sharply, “Don’t you dare. Our brother is not like that.” I said, “Our Sujata is not someone who would slap anyone.” But the damage was done, and Sujata felt ashamed.
But, unfortunately it happened the other way around – the groom hit our Sujata. She came back to her parents’ home after a month or so. She was very upset and refused to return to her in-laws’ house. It was a big scandal. Her mother-in-law came to take her back, and after some tricks, threats, and promises, Sujata had to return.  After that, every time I saw her my heart ached for her and my mind questioned, “Is this the same Sujata?”  The last time I saw her was with her six-month-old-baby. She said, “This baby has brought some joy to my life.”

A few years later, I moved to the USA from India and did not meet Sujata again for several years.  I heard that Sujata had two daughters and was living a somber life.
We were in California. My life was full with two lively children, my parents-in-law, and other family members in the house. One time, some friends of my father-in-law came to visit from northern California. We were talking about my hometown, and he asked me whether I knew Sujata! When I told them that she was my friend, they told me a story which shook me up.
The elderly uncle said, “We have one artist named Ritik in our neighborhood who still worships Sujata after all these years.”
I did not know this fellow because they had met when Sujata stayed with her older sister in another town, but I had heard his name. He had gone to school in a different city but was from the same town and caste as Sujata.  As soon as he found out about me, Ritik called. He wanted to know all about Sujata. Then he requested, “Can you please, mail a letter for me from your address and also receive Sujata’s reply at your address? I don’t want to create any problem for her.”
Wow! I was puzzled by this new romantic complication. Anyway, I agreed and a few letters passed back and forth through my hand. After several months the letters stopped. During a visit to India I met Sujata briefly. She inquired about Ritik, but I did not have any information. I asked her a few questions before we bid goodbye.
With another twist of circumstances, Ritik and our family moved to the same city, and we were invited to his exhibition of paintings. We established a connection. After a few weeks, we sat down for a long talk.
Ritik’s life had been hanging by a thread named Sujata. He said, “In my paintings, do you recognize her face? The day I met Sujata was like a planned event by the stars up above. I believed that Destiny had Her hand in bringing us together. It was love at first sight for me. I met her several times and expressed my feelings and hoped to spend our lives together. I had a hard time reading her thoughts. She was casually agreeing with my feelings and was sweet to me. I made her a painting and presented it to her. Her sister did not look very pleased with our friendship but did not say anything. Sujata was inquiring about my finances and education, which were quite modest. The day came when she had to go back to her parents’ home. I asked, ‘What about us? I love you. Can I come to your house and ask your parents for your hand in marriage?’ She said, ‘My parents will not agree and my brothers will beat you up badly. I cannot displease my family.’ I was devastated.  I had sort of written away my life to her name.  With time, I realized that she had been making up excuses. May be she was not committed to this relationship as I had been. But it was too late for me to return to my old self.”
In India, the conversation I had had with Sujata flashed in my mind. I had asked her, ‘Why did you marry this guy instead of Ritik?’ She confessed, ‘I was envious of the girls around me marring the rich guys – so greed clouded my judgment and I agreed to marry an engineer instead of an artist.’
I asked about the letters. Ritik said, “When I wrote the first letter, I was skeptical, but when I received her reply, I felt that on the branch of my mute life the birds started to sing. She said that she had been thinking about me often and missed being with me. As communications continued, she begged me to make arrangements to bring her to America with her two teenage daughters. That proposal made me look at this revived fling differently. I am secretly corresponding with someone’s wife! And I stopped.

So, in this lifetime, I feel rich that I have loved someone. I am not alone because in the corner of my heart Sujata is there. I look and see her face in my paintings. The question does not arise whether she loved me or not because, for me, the reality is that I will always love her.”

Her face in my paintings
She loved me, she loved me not,
The question does not prick anymore.
Her presence is here like a twinkle in a star,
I am out of her circle, a far-fallen star.

She came into my life, I felt it destined,
Left her shadow melted barely with mine.
Those were the days–tepid, trivial for her.
They still trim colors for this lifelong dreamer.

I offered her a simple and singular daisy,
She chose to take the bunch of roses.
A sweet melancholy comes to sit beside,
Keeps me warm and cozy inside.

My precious past is anchored deep within,
On my blues and grays, bright red reigns.
There she may be, withered and wise,
But smiles in my paintings with a shy surprise.
———-

                               ૧૧  સુજાતા-ચિત્રોમાં એક ચહેરો

મારી મિત્ર સુજાતા હંમેશા નાની મોટી બેનપણીઓથી ઘેરાયેલી રહેતી. એ ૧૯૫૮ના વર્ષો, જ્યારે હું સ્વપ્નશીલ બાર વર્ષની અલ્લડ અને બેદરકાર કિશોરી હતી અને મારા કરતા ત્રણ વર્ષે મોટી અને બધાની પ્રિય સુજાતા મારી ખાસ બેનપણી બની ગઈ હતી. અમે છોકરા છોકરીઓ, રોજ સાંજે ઘર સામેના મોટા રમતગમતના મેદાનમાં ભેગા થતાં અને એમાં સુજાતાની બાજુમાં ઉભા રહેવા ચડસા ચડસી કરતાં. એની સામે કયો મોટો છોકરો તાકી રહ્યો છે એની માહિતી પણ આપતા અને સુજાતા મોઘમ હસીને આંખ ફેરવી લેતી. આ રીતે મળતુ મહત્વ એને બહુ ગમતુ અને જ્યારે અન્યને મહત્વ મળતુ તો એના ચહેરા પર ઈર્ષાના ભાવ હું વાંચી શકતી.
સુજાતા રમગમતમાં અને ભણવામાં હોશિયાર હતી. એ કોલેજમાં ગઈ પછી અમારો સહવાસ ઓછો થઈ ગયો પણ નજીકમાં રહેતી હોવાથી એના બદલાતા કોલેજ મિત્રો વિષે અને સુજાતાના વધુ પડતા કાળજી લેતા ભાઇઓ દ્વારા થતી એમની મારપીટના સમાચારો મળતા રહેતા. અમારા મિત્રમંડળને લાગતુ કે અમુક બહુ યોગ્ય ઉમેદવારોને પણ સુજાતાના ભાઇઓએ ભગાડી દીધેલા. એની કોલેજ પુરી થતાં સુજાતા શહેર છોડીને એની બહેન સાથે થોડા મહિનાઓ રહેવા જતી રહેલી.
એને પાછી આવેલી જોઈ મને આનંદ થયો પણ ઘરમાં ગંભીર વાતાવરણ અને અકળાયેલી સુજાતાએ ખાસ ખુશી વગર, મને જણાવ્યુ કે એના લગ્ન એક એન્જીનીયર સાથે નક્કી થઈ ગયા છે. પરાણે હા પાડવી પડી હતી. લગ્ન વખતે રીસાયેલા મુખવાળા વરરાજાને જોઇ એક ટીખળી છોકરો બોલ્યો, “સુજાતા, વરરાજામાં ખાસ દમ નથી લાગતો, એક તમાચો મારીશ તો પણ કાંઇ બોલશે નહીં.” બદનસીબે વરરાજાની બહેન સાંભળી ગઈ અને બોલી, “ના હો અમારા ભાઈ કાંઈ એવા નથી.” મેં કહ્યુ, “અમારી સુજાતા પણ કોઈને મારે એવી નથી.” પણ વાતાવરણમાં ખારાશ આવી ગયેલી. એ વખતે અમને ખબર નહોતી કે વાત અવળી ઉતરશે.
એકાદ મહિનામાં સુજાતા પિયર આવી અને રડતા જણાવ્યું કે, “હું પાછી જવાની જ નથી, મારા પર એણે હાથ ઉપાડ્યો હતો.” એના ઘરમાં બધાને ચિંતા થઈ ગઈ. અંતે એના સાસુ અનેક બહાના કરી સમજાવીને પાછા લઈ ગયા. પણ પછી જ્યારે પણ મેં એને જોઈ ત્યારે એક હમદર્દીનો સૂર અનાયાસ દિલમાંથી નીકળતો ને સવાલ ઉઠતો, “શું આ એ જ સુજાતા છે!” મારા અમેરિકા આવતા પહેલા સુજાતા એની નાની બેબીને લઈને મારા બાને ઘેર મળવા આવી હતી અને કહેતી હતી કે, “આ બાળકી મારા જીવનમાં કંઈક સુખ લઈ આવી.”
સુજાતાને મળ્યે ઘણા વર્ષો નીકળી ગયા. એના સમાચારોમાં જાણવા મળ્યુ હતું  કે એને બે દીકરીઓ છે અને સાદુ જીવન જીવી રહી છે.
એ સમયે અમે કેલિફોર્નીઆમાં રહેતા હતાં અને બે બાળકો અને બીજા પરિવારના સભ્યો સાથે હું જીવનમાં ઘણી વ્યસ્ત હતી. એવામાં મારા શ્વસુરજીના મિત્ર અમારે ઘેર ત્રણ દિવસ રહેવા આવ્યા. વાતો વાતોમાં હું ભાવનગરની છું એ જાણતા એમણે મને સવાલ કર્યો કે, “સુજાતાને ઓળખો છો?”
મેં મીઠી યાદોને વાગોળતા કહ્યું કે, “સુજાતા મારી એક વખતની ખાસ બેનપણી હતી.” ત્યાર પછી, એ મુરબ્બીની વાતોથી હું હલી ઊઠી.
મહેમાને કહ્યું કે, “અમારા પડોશમાં એક રિતીક નામનો ચિત્રકાર રહે છે જે આજ પણ સુજાતાની આરાધના કરતો રહ્યો છે.” મેં એનુ નામ સંભળેલુ પણ સુજાતા સાથેની દોસ્તી વિષે મને ખબર ન હતી. મને વિચાર કરતા એ સમય અને પરિસ્થિતિનો ખ્યાલ આવી ગયો. એ થોડા મહિનાઓ એની બહેનને ઘેર રહેવા ગઈ હતી ત્યારે રિતીક સાથે સ્નેહ સંબંધ થયેલો અને ત્યાંથી પાછી આવી કે તરત એના લગ્ન નક્કી થઈ ગયેલા તેથી એ વાત સુજાતાએ તદ્દન ગુપ્ત રાખી હતી.
રિતીકને મારા અને સુજાતાની મિત્રતા વિષે ખબર મળતા જ એનો ફોન આવ્યો અને ઘણા સવાલો મને પુછી લીધા. પછી અંતે મને પૂછ્યું કે, “તમારા નામે-સરનામે હું પત્ર મોકલવા માંગુ છુ તો એટલુ મારૂ કામ કરી આપશો? મારે એને માટે કોઈ તકલીફ ઊભી નથી કરવી.”
વાહ! આવી લાગણીવિવશ પરિસ્થિતિમાં મને વચ્ચે મુકાતા જરા અચકાટ થયો પણ મેં હા પાડી. થોડા સમયમાં સુજાતાનો જવાબ પણ આવ્યો જે મેં રિતીકને રવાના કર્યો. આમ થોડા પત્રોની આપ-લે થયા પછી પત્રવ્યવહાર બંધ થતાં મને નવાઈ લાગી પણ વાત વિસરાઈ ગઈ અને સમય વહેતો રહ્યો. એક વખત ભારતની મુલાકાત દરમ્યાન ઉતાવળમાં સુજાતાને મળી ત્યારે એણે રિતીકના ખબર પૂછ્યાં હતાં અને પછી થોડી વાતચીત કરી અમે છુટા પડેલા.
અમારા ૠણાનુબંધ હજી પૂરા નહોતા થયા. રિતીક અને અમે એક જ શહેરમાં રહેવા આવ્યા અને એના ચિત્રોના પ્રદર્શનમાં એક ઓળખીતાને ઘેર ભેગા થઈ ગયા. ઘણો ભાવનાશીલ અને સરળ પણ જરા ધુની વ્યક્તિત્વવાળો રિતીક અમારો મિત્ર બની ગયો. અમે નિરાંતે ફરી મળ્યા ત્યારે મેં એને સુજાતા વિષે પુછ્યું અને એણે સંકોચ વગર પોતાનો ભુતકાળ કહી બતાવ્યો.
“હું પહેલી વખત સુજાતાને એના બહેનને ઘેર મળ્યો. મને નસીબની બલિહારી પર શ્રધ્ધા તેથી થોડા સમયમાં જ મારા મનનો ભાવ દ્રઢ થઈ ગયો કે સુજાતા મારી જીવન સંગિની બનશે. એ મળે ત્યારે મીઠાશ રાખતી પણ સંબંધોમાં વિશેષ એકરાર કે ઊંડાણ નહોતા. મારી આર્થિક સ્થિતિ અને શું કમાણી છે એ વિષે બધી માહિતી એણે જાણી લીધેલી. હું એને રીઝવવા પૂરા દિલથી પ્રયત્ન કરતો હતો એવામાં એક દિવસ સુજાતાએ કહ્યું કે, “મારે ગામ પાછા જવાનુ છે.” મારૂ દિલ રડી ઊઠ્યું, “આપણા ભવિષ્યનુ શું? હું તારા મમ્મી-પપ્પા પાસે આવીને તારા હાથની માંગણી કરૂ?” એ બોલી, “ના, એનો કોઈ ફાયદો નહીં થાય અને ઉપરથી તને માર પડશે.” એની નિર્લેપતા જોઈ મને આઘાત લાગ્યો. હું મારૂ સર્વસ્વ ન્યોચ્છાવર કરી ચૂક્યો હતો અને એ તો સાવ કોરી હતી!”
એ વખતે મને સુજાતા સાથે છેલ્લે થયેલ વાર્તાલાપ યાદ આવ્યો. મેં જ્યારે પૂછેલું કે, ‘રિતીકને મુકીને તેં બીજે લગ્નની હા કેમ પાડી હતી!’ સુજાતાએ કહેલુ, ‘મારી સાથેની છોકરીઓ પૈસાદાર ડીગ્રીવાળાને પરણતી હતી તેથી મેં એન્જીનીયર માટે હા કહેવાની ભૂલ કરેલી.’
રિતીક સાથે વાત આગળ ચલાવતા મેં એમના પત્રવ્યવહાર વિષે પુછ્યું.
રિતીક કહે, “જ્યારે તમે સુજાતાને મોકલાવેલ પત્રનો જવાબ આવ્યો ત્યારે મને આનંદ થયો, જાણે મારા રંગોમાં ફરી નવી ચમક આવી! પણ જ્યારે એણે પોતાની અને દીકરીઓની મુશ્કેલીઓનો ઉપચાર કરવા હું એમને અમેરિકા બોલાવું એવો અનુરોધ કરવાનુ શરૂ કર્યુ ત્યારે હું મારી કાલ્પનિક તંદ્રામાંથી જાગી ગયો. મને સમજમાં આવ્યુ કે હું કોઈની પત્ની સાથે આ ગુપ્ત વ્યવહાર કરી રહ્યો છું અને એમાંથી મોટો બખેડો ઉભો થઈ જશે. તેથી મેં પત્રવ્યવહાર બંધ કરી દીધો.
“હજી પણ હું માનુ છું કે નિયતીએ મને સુજાતાનો પરિચય કરાવ્યો અને મારા મનમાં જે રેખાચિત્ર વર્ષો પહેલા દોરાયું એ આજે પણ પ્રેરણા આપી રહ્યું છે. સુજાતા મને જે કારણોથી છોડીને ગઈ એ સુખ એને મળ્યુ કે નહીં એ ખબર નથી,પણ મારા ચિત્રોમાં એના ચહેરા પર આજે પણ સ્મિત છે.”
   ચિત્રોમાં એક ચહેરો

એ  મારા  ચિત્રો  અને  ચિત્તમાં  વસી ગઈ,
પ્રેમ  કરીયો  કે નહીં!  આવી ને ખસી ગઈ.

વિધિના વિધાન સી  એ પહેલી  મુલાકાત,
નજરૂં  મળતા  રે ખીલી  પૂર્ણ  ચન્દ્ર  રાત.
જિગર  દીપ  એમનો  ઝળહળ્યો  કે નહીં!
સદૈવ   જલે   દીપ,  વાટ   સંકોરૂ    અહીં.

મારા  મૂક  પુષ્પો   એના  પંથમાં   કરમાય,
ત્યાં  એ  ગયા  દોડી,  ફૂલ  મોંઘા  દેખાય.
મારા    કુસુમોને   એણે   સૂંઘ્યા  કે  નહીં!
શુષ્ક થઈ લપાયા  જીવન  પાનામાં  અહીં.

પૂર્વગતા  દિવસો  અજવાળે  મમ  આજ,
મેઘધનુ   રંગ   ભરે   અલ્પ  એ   અંદાજ.
સુવિધા  ને  સુખ  તેને  મળીયા   કે  નહીં!
મધુ  ચહેરો  મલકે, મારા ચિત્રોમાં  અહીં…
——–
કુમળી ઉંમરમાં લેવાયેલા નિર્ણયો આપણુ ભવિષ્ય તદ્દન નવા પાટે ચડાવી દે છે.

3 ટિપ્પણીઓ (+add yours?)

  1. DR. CHANDRAVADAN MISTRY
    જુલાઈ 31, 2012 @ 01:07:20

    A Post with a Story of Sujata in English & then in Gujarati. Very well narrated.
    Is this a Navalkatha OR the True Story.
    Either way, it is touching Varta of the REALITY of this Life on this Earth. Often, the FATE either brings 2 Souls closer or FAR apart.
    Sometimes, others in the Life play a POSITIVE or NEGATIVE Roles…& the OUTCOME is the GOOD or BAD to that individual….But…sometimes, one can be a REBEL & fight again the TRADITIONS & then write the “own destiny” !
    DR. CHANDRAVADAN MISTRY
    http://www.chandrapukar.wordpress.com
    Saryuben….Hope to see you on Chandrapukar !

    Like

    જવાબ આપો

  2. pragnaju
    જુલાઈ 23, 2012 @ 00:20:37

    ખૂબ સુંદર ભાવભરી વાત

    Like

    જવાબ આપો

પ્રતિસાદ આપો

