Soft Yellow Ball

Soft Yellow Ball

We had a soft yellow ball and green little bat;
A rug in her room was a grand play mat.

“Granny! You throw the ball and I hit away;
I know you are slow and I will get away.”

She would laugh and say, “Oh, boy! You are fast.
You surely are the best; now I need some rest.”

In the heart of my heart, I had a suspicion,
Sometimes grandma just lets me win.

“I make the tricky moves; I am a checkers champ,
But alas! I am trapped; I hold the tears back.”

Grandma used to say, “Oops! I made a wrong move.
It looks like, boy, you will win soon.”

In the heart of my heart, I have confidence;
Grandma has helped; it is coincidence.

I go out into the world, so aggressive and keen,
The best I can be where no one lets me win.
——-

Vacation time, playing with seven years old Kethan . . . August 2014

2 ટિપ્પણીઓ (+add yours?)

  1. Deepaka Bhatt
    સપ્ટેમ્બર 02, 2014 @ 13:39:09

    Saryuben,
    I was absolutely thrilled by reading “Soft Yellow Ball” and was overjoyed as I can see her (your grand son’s) mischievous as well as innocent smile and eyes with deep feelings of what’s going on. It is almost similar to what Lord Krishna says to her mother when he was a child “Mai Nahi Maakhan Khaayo” and mother Jasoda agrees with it and then both smile knowing exactly what happened. I think it is an ecstasy of pure love between them. You have made tremendous literary and spiritual progress and very fortunately able to express it beautifully.

    Like

    જવાબ આપો

  2. pragnaju
    ઓગસ્ટ 20, 2014 @ 23:49:21

    Grandma used to say, “Oops! I made a wrong move.
    It looks like, boy, you will win soon.”

    In the heart of my heart, I have confidence;
    Grandma has helped; it is coincidence.

    Awesome song for anyone desiring true fellowship with Grandma and the Holly Spirit.I have confidence that I am receiving truthful loving guidance each time. She has helped me out with so much and, in a way, she gave me back my life,

    Like

    જવાબ આપો

Leave a comment